The Five Mysteries of the Rosary

When praying the Rosary and it is time to announce the Mystery you say: "The (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th) mystery is...(The Mystery)"

For example if you're praying the Joyful Mysteries and you're on the first mystery, you would say "The first Joyful Mystery is The Annunciation of the Lord to Mary"

The Five Joyful Mysteries

  • 1st Joyful Mystery: The Annunciation of the Lord to Mary
  • 2nd Joyful Mystery: The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
  • 3rd Joyful Mystery: The Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ
  • 4th Joyful Msytery: The Presentation of our Lord
  • 5th Joyful Mystery: Finding Jesus in the Temple at age 12

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

  • 1st Sorrowful Mystery: The Agony of Jesus in the Garden
  • 2nd Sorrowful Mystery: The The Scourging at the Pillar
  • 3rd Sorrowful Mystery: Jesus is Crowned with Thorns
  • 4th Sorrowful Msytery: Jesus Carried the Cross
  • 5th Sorrowful Mystery: The Crucifixion of our Lord

The Five Glorious Mysteries

  • 1st Glorious Mystery: The Resurrection of Jesus Christ
  • 2nd Glorious Mystery: The Ascension of Jesus to Heaven
  • 3rd Glorious Mystery: The Descent of the Holy Ghost
  • 4th Glorious Msytery: The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
  • 5th Glorious Mystery: Mary is Crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth

The Five Luminous Mysteries

  • 1st Luminous Mystery: The Baptism in the Jordan
  • 2nd Luminous Mystery: The Wedding at Cana
  • 3rd Luminous Mystery: The Proclamation of the Kingdom
  • 4th Luminous Msytery: The Transfiguration
  • 5th Luminous Mystery: The Institution of the Eucharist